The NATSO Foundation Awards $25,000 in Scholarships Continuing a Long-Standing Tradition

December 2022

Alexandria, VA… The NATSO Foundation has awarded $25,000 in scholarships through the Bill and Carolyn Moon Scholarship program to five students with ties to the truckstop and travel plaza industry. 

The Bill and Carolyn Moon Scholarship Program has been changing lives for more than 20 years, awarding more than $300,000 in scholarships to date. The scholarships provide assistance to those who are pursuing their post-secondary education. The NATSO Foundation welcomes scholarship contributions and donors can pledge their support year-round. 

This year’s recipients include truckstop and travel plaza employees as well as their dependents. Recipients of the NATSO Foundation’s 2022 Bill and Carolyn Moon Scholarship are: 

* Ashton Hernandez who represents Pilot Travel Center #1147, Kermit, Texas 

* Andres Panagiotopoulos who represents TA Wapakoneta, ?Wapakoneta, Ohio 

* Madison Red Owl who represents TA Express #273/Heinz Corp., Hot Springs, South Dakota 

* Austin Rofe who represents TravelCenters of America Corporate, ?Westlake, Ohio 

* Isaiah Taylor who represents Petro Stopping Center #352, Gadsden, Alabama 

Donations are critical to maintain this long-standing tradition, which is named in honor of Bill and Carolyn Moon, who founded the Iowa 80 Group. The Moons made substantial contributions to NATSO, actively supporting and participating in industry-related government affairs issues and launched the scholarship program. 

The annual scholarships are open to truckstop and travel plaza owners and operators, their employees and their families to further their education.