40th Anniversary Shell Rotella® SuperRigs®

Pam Pollock
August 2022

Branson Landing, MO….  The beautiful and picturesque Lake Taneycomo, which flows through Branson Landing in Branson, Missouri was the perfect backdrop for the 40th Anniversary Shell Rotella® SuperRigs® competition, which was  held June 9-11, 2022.

 The three-day event drew spectacular trucks from all across the USA and Canada.  Shell Rotella®  SuperRigs® celebrated their 40th Anniversary with a truck lights at night contest,  a spectacular fireworks display on Lake Taneycomo, and a contestant dinner.  Many of the drivers proudly drove their trucks in a Parade down  the boardwalk at Branson Landing, to the delight of hundreds of spectators who lined the sidewalks of the town square.  The magnificent steads of steel drove by the Branson Landing Water Fountains, a choreographed light and music show, which featured 120-foot geysers shooting water into the sky and  blasting fire cannons blasting.

The drivers and their trucks competed for cash and prizes valued at approximately $25,000. Twelve drivers were also selected to have their truck featured in the 2023 Shell Rotella SuperRigs calendar. 

Winners of the 2022 Shell Rotella® SuperRigs® are:

Best of Show: Theresa DeSantis, 1985 Peterbilt 359, $10,000 from Shell Rotella, Place in the 2023 Rotella SuperRigs Calendar

 Best of Show 1st Runner Up: Truett Novosad, 2007 Peterbilt 379 EXHD, $4,000 from Shell Rotella

 Best of Show 2nd Runner Up: Dean DeSantis, 2018 Peterbilt 389, $2,000 from Shell Rotella

Tractor/Trailer Division: 1st - Todd Gribble, 2012 Peterbilt 389; 2nd  - Truett Novosad, 2005 Peterbilt 379 EHD; 3rd -

Ben Overton, 2020 Kenworth W900B; 4th - Jeron Whittmore, 2018 Peterbilt 389; 5th - Mike Davidson, 2019 Peterbilt 389

 Tractor Division: 1st - Kaleb Hammett, 2019 Peterbilt 389; 2nd - Kyle Cousins , 2021 Kenworth W900; 3rd - Kyle Cousins; 2016 Kenworth W900; 4th - Clayton Driskell, 2018 Kenworth W900L; 5th - Tyler Van Der Zwaag; 1995 Peterbilt 379

Classic Division: 1st - David Foster, 2005 Kenworth W900L;  2nd: JR Schleuger, 1985 Kenworth K100C; 3rd  - Trevor Timblin, 1982 Peterbilt 362; 4th - Gary Tharp, 1984 Peterbilt 362; 5th - Terry Aslinger; 1996 Peterbilt 379EXHD

Working Truck - Limited Mileage:  1st - Robert Hallahan, 2022 Peterbilt 389; 2nd - Bubba Branch, 1996 Kenworth W900; 3rd - Steve Huff, 2022 Kenworth W900L; 4th - Randy Victory, 1986 Peterbilt 359;  5th - Jeremy Thomas, 2005 Peterbilt 379

 Show Truck: Brandon Avant, 2010 Peterbilt 389; Kary Bryce, 1959 Peterbilt 351; Don Emmons, 1999 Peterbilt 379; Jeron Whittmore, 1991 Peterbilt 379; Troy Bolin, 1979 Peterbilt 359

 Best Interior: Truett Novosad, 2007 Peterbilt 379 EXHD

 Best Lights: Randy Victory, 1986 Peterbilt 359

 Best Theme: Theresa DeSantis, 1985 Peterbilt 359

 Best Chrome: Bubba Branch, 1996 Kenworth W900

 Best Engine: Bubba Branch, 1996 Kenworth W900

 People’s Choice: Daniel and Phyliss Snow, 1996 Freightliner Classic XL

Shell Rotella/Stephen Clark for photos